This week I will mostly be reading…

IMG_20150126_235705668

This week, I will mostly be reading:

Pictured above, from top to bottom:

The Diamond as Big as the Ritz and other stories – F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Grand Sophy – Georgette Heyer

Everything is Illuminated – Jonathan Safran Foer

I finally managed to regain a little momentum towards the end of last week.  I finished Emma and my review for it has gone up.  I’m still stalling on Gormenghast because I’m finding it, physically, a hugely inconvenient book to read as it’s so large and heavy.  I’ll finish it at some point, but I’m trying not to let it become an albatross around my neck as I’m enjoying it immensely.  As well as finishing the original Emma, I’ve read the Alexander McCall Smith modernisation of the same book, as well as All the Bright Places over the weekend.  I’ve already written reviews for both, and those will go up Wednesday and Friday respectively.  Fair warning: neither review is particularly flattering.

So, for this week, what’s coming up?

Everything is Illuminated is still my priority behind Gormenghast.  I hope it will help spur me on even more out of this slight reading slump (I have my own suspicions on why it started but don’t want to say too much on a public blog).

The Diamond as Big as the Ritz is a nice short one.  I’m hoping it’ll be a more positive experience of Fitzgerald than my last attempt, which was reading half of Tender is the Night and heartily disliking it.  I’ll probably give the latter a go again at some point.  (For the record, The Great Gatsby is one of my favourite books).

The Grand Sophy is one I’ve been looking forward to, as many have compared it to Jane Austen in terms of wit and romance.  I’m hoping that I find it to my taste.  I tend to sway wildly one way or the other with these things.  For example, Cold Comfort Farm is often said to be witty in the same vein as Jane Austen and I didn’t find much to smile about in that one!

We’ll come to the close of January this week.  For starters, I’d like to say thanks to everyone who’s followed my blog, or commented, or liked posts over this month – it’s been a really positive experience!  This is probably the longest I’ve persevered with a blog as I tend to get discouraged really easily.  I’m trying to remember I’m doing this for myself first and foremost, and it seems to be working.  You’ll also perhaps remember that, at the start of the month, I posted a picture of the books I hoped to read this month.  I’m obviously a little over-ambitious – including those above, I still have seven of those plus half of the Gormenghast trilogy to read.  I shall not let that discourage me!  Depending on what I get done this week, those books will most likely role over into next month.  However, I’ll keep one mantra in mind: it’s up to me.

2 thoughts on “This week I will mostly be reading…

  1. Whether or not you’re achieving targets this is still an impressive haul! Remember it’s about enjoyment, not a box-ticking exercise!

    Mansfield Park’s my next Austen, then back to some juvenilia before I tackle Emma…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’m definitely working on remembering that 🙂 targets do keep me focused, so I like them (I’m a naturally goal-oriented, list make-y type) but I try to err on the side of not feeling bad if I don’t meet them.

      I hope you enjoy Mansfield Park! I really didn’t like it, but many do. It does seem to be rather polarising so I’m interested to see what others think of it. Emma I think should be a surefire hit if you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read so far.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

