New year, new goals: The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge

This is a scheduled post.

As you must ALL be aware now, a big part of my challenge for the coming year is to really eat into the pile of books I’ve got sitting waiting for me.  With this in mind, I’ve taken on the TBR Pile challenge, which urges you to read books that have been sitting in your TBR for more than one year – that is, since before the end of 2013.  With that in mind, I’ve picked some unread books that I have, many of which have been in my possession for at least three years, with the goal of reading all twelve before the year is out.  As above, I plan on reading one per month.  This gives me the structure of having some books already picked for me, and the freedom to read around those I’ve already picked with more impulsive choices.

The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge – Roofbeam Reader

2015tbrbutton

Challenge can be found here.  Many thanks to The Roofbeam Reader for hosting the challenge.  The concept is to pick twelve books, plus two alternates, that have been sitting on your shelf for more than one year. I’ve picked some books that I’ve been putting off and putting off despite knowing I’ll enjoy them, and, as above, I plan to read one per month.

  • January – Gormenghast trilogy – Mervyn Peake
  • February – Blood Meridian – Cormac McCarthy
  • March –  Lord of Light – Roger Zelazny
  • April – Disgrace– JM Coetzee
  • May- Dubliners – James Joyce
  • June – Infinite Jest – David Foster Wallace
  • July – Big Fish – Daniel Wallace
  • August –  Going Out – Scarlett Thomas
  • September – Tam Lin – Pamela Dean
  • October – The Shining – Stephen King
  • November –  The Cider House Rules – John Irving
  • December – Dreams Underfoot – Charles de Lint
  • Alternates: Cinder – Marissa Meyer; The Phantom Tollbooth – Norton Juster
2 thoughts on “New year, new goals: The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. Fascinating list, packed with classics both ancient abd modern. Ashamed to say I’ve read none of them. I’m tempted by the Pamela Dean, which I’ve seen recommended elsewhere, and Big Fish (mainly because I’ve nearly seen the film twice). You’re counting the Peake trilogy as one title? I’d better stop wittering and let you get on with it…

    Like

    • I wouldn’t be ashamed – after all, I haven’t read any of them either (yet)! I love the Tam Lin tale – another good rendition of it (which also incorporates elements of Thomas the Rhymer, another of my favourites) is Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones (which you might already know but I like any chance I can to recommend it!) I love the film of Big Fish, I’ve seen it a few times as well. I’ve had the book for… three years and still haven’t read it and I’m not sure why!

      Also, yeah… that may have been a mistake! At this rate, I’ll be happy if I get through the first two (and reportedly by far the best) of the three books. I’m making slow progress through Gormenghast as I started a new job on Monday and there is just no reasonable way that I can move that book around with me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

