Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books on My Fall TBR List

Thanks to The Broke and the Bookish for the prompt. Welcome to my first post – hopefully the first of many!

Anyway, not only am I going to answer this question for meme-based purpose,  but I’ll be using this as my first chunk of books for my first blog challenge! Although they’re technically my “fall” (AUTUMN DAMMIT) reads, I’ll probably be aiming to finish these by the end of October.

TOP TEN BOOKS ON MY FALL TBR!

    IMG_20140923_225610724[1]

(sorry for my crappy photography – my real camera is out of batteries at the moment!)

      • The Forever War – Joe Haldeman

This sounds right up my street.  I like space opera when done right, and this most likely isn’t a classic of the genre for no good reason.  A lot has been made of the parallels to Vietnam so it’ll be interesting to see how it’s aged from that perspective, especially given I was born long after that war ended.

      • The Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka

This will be my first Kafka – I hope I’m ready for it!

      • Sons and Lovers – DH Lawrence

 I know very little about this text as I picked it up almost on a whim – which is why I decided to read it before the more well known Lady Chatterley’s Lover.  I’m not really sure what to expect from it and I know Lawrence can be polarising, but I intend to at least give it a good shot.  It’s not in the picture as I couldn’t find my copy when I went to look, but I do know it’s there.

      • The Golem and the Jinni – Helene Wecker

 This is a fairly hefty book and one that got quite a lot of attention over the last year or so.  I love the premise and the variety of settings that seem to have been used for the book, so I’m really looking forward to an immersive experience with this one.  It’s within my slightly fantasy-leaning comfort zone, too, so that should help me to enjoy it (though on the other hand may make me more critical).

      • The Windup Girl – Paolo Bacigalupi

 I’m not a huge fan of steampunk but this came fairly strongly recommended so I’m going to give it a go. It sounds intriguing, but I have been burned on this kind of thing before.

      • If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller – Italo Calvino

 I’m maybe a little wary of this one because of the unusual writing style (it’s in second person, singular)  and because I’ve been told it’s a bit, well, weird, but I read the first page and was blown away by how gorgeous the language is so I’m looking forward to getting stuck in.

      • Castle in the Air – Diana Wynne Jones

 I loved Howl’s Moving Castle when I read it a few years ago, and I’ve been meaning to get round to this one for far too long.  I’ll probably reread the first before I get to it, just because I can.

      • Labyrinths – Jose Luis Borges

 I’ve woefully neglected my reading of short fiction in the last few years – I think I was strongly put off it at school by reading and over-dissecting a couple of short stories that I really didn’t care for.  However,  my boyfriend read a few of these out to me one night (he has a great reading voice!) and I knew I definitely had to give them a go.  This is one of quite a few short story anthologies on my list, so we’ll see if I can get over my distaste!

      • Midnight Riot – Ben Aaronovitch

 I’ve been told this is like a less problematic Dresden Files set in London.  I have no idea how true that is but I’ll look forward to finding out. (NB I have not read any of the DF books but I have been strongly put off them by some of the excerpts that I’ve come across, especially regarding the women in the books and will be unlikely to read them.)

      • A Streetcar Named Desire – Tennessee Williams

 I know, I should probably actually go and see this, but I simply don’t have the money for the theatre.  I’m going to compromise by watching the film straight afterwards.

So these are what I’ll be getting cracking on with once I finish The Stand.

  • BONUS KINDLE READ: I’ll be re-reading Northanger Abbey on my Kindle while I’m out and about as preparation for reading the Val McDermaid treatment of the same as part of the Jane Austen Project.
Leave a Reply

